Skip to main content

This site is best viewed with a modern browser. You appear to be using an old version of Internet Explorer.

Our structure

Oxford University Hospitals is one of the largest NHS teaching trusts in England. On 1 October 2015 the Trust was awarded Foundation Trust status and became Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust.

Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust - Licence: 1 October 2015 (pdf, 342 KB)

It is governed by a Board of Directors. Day-to-day running of the hospitals and their clinical and non-clinical services is delegated to Executive Directors and senior clinicians and managers. You can find out more about our organisational structure on these pages.

Board of Directors

The Board has overall responsibility for the activity, integrity and strategy of the Trust. Its role is largely supervisory and strategic.

Read more about the Board of Directors

Trust Management Executive

The Trust Management Executive is the senior managerial decision-making body for the Trust. It is chaired by the Chief Executive, and consists of the Trust's Executive Directors, and the four Divisional Directors.

Council of Governors

The Council of Governors holds the Trust Board to account, is democratically elected, and is made up of unpaid posts, they represent the interests of Trust members and the public. The Governors bring a valuable perspective and contribution to the Trust's activities.

Clinical services and Divisions

The clinical services at the Oxford University Hospitals are grouped into Divisions. Each Division is headed by a Divisional Director, a practising clinician who is supported by a Divisional Nurse and General Manager.

The Divisions are responsible for the day-to-day management and delivery of services within their areas in line with Trust strategies, policies and procedures.

The Divisions include Directorates, each of which contain clinical service units covering specific areas of services. Directorates are led by Clinical Directors and supported by Operational Service Managers, Matrons and other relevant experts. The Directorates include those with services on one or more sites, such as surgery and women's services, and those which are based on a single site, such as cardiac services and neurosciences.

View Divisions