Skip to main content

This site is best viewed with a modern browser. You appear to be using an old version of Internet Explorer.

Staff Recognition Awards 2023

The awards invite staff and patients to tell us about members of staff and teams who have gone above and beyond their role to make a difference.

More than 1,800 nominations were received for the OUH Staff Recognition Awards 2023 - congratulations to all teams, individual members of staff, volunteers and fundraisers who were nominated, and thank you to everyone who took the time to nominate.

The winners in each category were announced at our Staff Recognition Awards ceremony, held at Oxford Town Hall on Thursday 6 July 2023 - the week in which the NHS celebrated its 75th birthday.

Oxford Hospitals Charity generously supports the Staff Recognition Awards and we are grateful for their help which makes this important celebration of staff achievements possible.

Winners and finalists

Award for Excellence


Dr Jordan Bowen, Clinical Lead, Geratology (pictured below with Sara Randall)

Dr Jordan Bowen and Sara Randall


  • Horton General Endoscopy Booking Admin Team
  • Mala Murugesan
  • Oxfordshire Wheelchair Service

Award for Compassion


Amanda Crudgington, Florence Park Midwives (pictured below with Paula Gardner)

Amanda Crudgington and Paula Gardner


  • Dr Jane Collier
  • Sarah Holden
  • Home Hospice Team
  • Victoria Tebbutt

Award for Respect


Here for Health (pictured below with Rachel Stanfield)

Here for Health team and Rachel Stanfield


  • Horton General Therapy Team
  • Dr Alexandra Montagu
  • Dr Sudhir Singh

Award for Delivery


Mpox Vaccine Team (pictured below with Jason Dorsett)

Mpox Vaccine Team with Jason Dorsett


  • Dr Jordan Bowen
  • Discharge Liaison Nurse Team
  • Pre-operative Assessment Admin Team

Award for Learning


Alison Langshaw and Emma Poynter-Smith (pictured below with Eileen Walsh)

Alison Langshaw, Emma Poynter-Smith and Eileen Walsh


  • Dr Rebecca Palmer
  • Frances Sinfield
  • Jessica Smith

Award for Improvement


Charandeep Malhi, Clinical Specialist Physiotherapist (pictured below with Dr Anny Sykes)

Charandeep Malhi and Dr Anny Sykes


  • Laura Cuthbertson
  • Catherine McNeill
  • Dr Ku Shah

Award for Sustainability


Dr Søren Kudsk-Iversen (pictured below with David Walliker)

Dr Søren Kudsk-Iversen and David Walliker


  • Dr James Dearman
  • Robert Harris
  • Oxford Adult Cystic Fibrosis Centre

Oxford Hospitals Charity Award for Supporter or Volunteer of the Year


Tingewick Society medical students (pictured below with Sarah Hordern and David Matthews)

Tingewick Society medical students, with Sarah Hordern and David Matthews


  • Sally-Jane Davidge
  • Karl Thompson
  • Pets as Therapy dog Bree and her owner Ann Osborne

Patients' Choice Award


Sara Goves, Safeguarding Midwife, and Mr Dennis Remoundos, Consultant Oncoplastic Breast Surgeon (pictured below with Anne Tutt and Claire Flint)

Anne Tutt, Sara Goves, Dennis Remoundos and Claire Flint


  • Irena Pukiova
  • Dr Justin Sims

Chair's Award


Dr Fiona MacLeod, Clinical Director of Radiology and Imaging (pictured below with Professor Sir Jonathan Montgomery)

Dr Fiona MacLeod and Professor Sir Jonathan Montgomery

Chief Executive Officer's Award


Jay Mistry, Commercial Director (pictured below with Professor Meghana Pandit)

Jay Mistry and Professor Meghana Pandit

Further information

For images from our celebration event, please see Facebook OUHospitals or follow hashtag #OUHAwards23 on Twitter.

If you would like further information, please contact us:

OUH Staff Recognition Awards is proudly supported by Oxford Hospitals Charity.

Last reviewed:07 July 2023