Skip to main content
Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

This site is best viewed with a modern browser. You appear to be using an old version of Internet Explorer.

Council of Governors

Oxford University Hospitals became an NHS Foundation Trust on 1 October 2015.

As a Foundation Trust, we have a Council of Governors which is composed of governors elected by public and staff members as well as appointed representatives from local organisations that we work with. The Trust is accountable through our membership and Council of Governors to our local communities.

The governors play a valuable role by holding our Non-executive Directors to account, ensuring that the interests of the Trust's members are taken into account and helping to shape our plans for the future.

Details of how our Council of Governors is formed and how it will work are available in our Constitution (pdf)

To contact a governor please email

Governors by constituency

Buckinghamshire, Berkshire, Wiltshire and Gloucestershire

  • Brian Souter
    Brian Souter
  • Sally-Jane Davidge
    Sally-Jane Davidge


  • Anita Higham OBE
    Anita Higham OBE
  • Keith Strangwood
    Keith Strangwood

Oxford City

  • Ceila Gould
    Cecilia Gould
  • John Harrison
    John Harrison

Northamptonshire and Warwickshire

  • Rosemary Herring
    Rosemary Herring
  • Anthony Bagot-Webb
    Anthony Bagot-Webb

Rest of England and Wales

  • Steve Candler
    Steve Candler

South Oxfordshire

  • Arthur Boylston
    Arthur Boylston
  • Vacant
    Vacant post

Vale of White Horse

  • Martin Havelock
    Martin Havelock
  • Jill Haynes
    Jill Haynes

West Oxfordshire

  • Sue Chapman
    Sue Chapman
  • Vacant
    Vacant post

Staff clinical

  • Chris Winearls
    Chris Winearls
  • Simon Brewster
    Simon Brewster
  • Jules Stockbridge
    Jules Stockbridge
  • Lucy Carr
    Lucy Carr

Staff non-clinical

  • Mariusz Zabrzynski
    Mariusz Zabrzynski
  • Thomas Snipe
    Thomas Snipe


  • Lawrie Stratford
    Councillor Lawrie Stratford
    Oxfordshire County Council
  • Vacant
    Vacant post
    University of Oxford
  • Photo of Dr Astrid Schloerscheidt
    Dr Astrid Schloerscheidt
    Oxford Brookes University
  • David Radbourne
    David Radbourne
    NHS England
  • Gareth Kenworthy
    Gareth Kenworthy
    Oxfordshire Clinical Commissioning Group
  • Martin Howell
    Martin Howell
    Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust
  • Yippee logo
    Emily and Lewis
    Young People's Executive