Skip to main content

This site is best viewed with a modern browser. You appear to be using an old version of Internet Explorer.

Trust celebrates 10th annual Staff Recognition Awards

This article is more than one year old.

Members of staff, volunteers and their nominiators came together at Oxford Town Hall to celebrate excellence at the 10th annual Oxford University Hospitals Staff Recognition Awards on Thursday 6 July 2023.

This annual event is organised by the Trust and supported by Oxford Hospitals Charity as a time to appreciate colleagues for the amazing work they have done in the past year. 

We were very grateful to Simon Thomas, broadcaster, who compered the event. Simon lost his first wife to Acute Myeloid Leukaemia few days after she was admitted to the Churchill Hospital for treatment. He described the exceptional and compassionate care his wife and family received from Andy Peniket, Clinical Director of Haematology and his team as 'incredible'.

The award categories are based on the Trust's values: Excellence, Compassion, Improvement, Learning, Respect and Delivery. There were also awards for Oxford Hospitals Charity Supporter or Volunteer of the Year, a Patients' Choice Award and a Chair's Award.

Two new award categories were added to this year's line-up: a Sustainability Award and the CEO's Award, making a total of 11 awards which were presented by several members of the OUH Board. 

Award categories and winners

  • Compassion: Amanda Crudgington, Community Midwife Team Lead
  • Delivery: Mpox Vaccine Team
  • Excellence: Jordan Bowen, Clinical Lead and Consultant, Geratology
  • Respect: Here for Health
  • Learning: Alison Langshaw and Emma Poynter-Smith, Speech and Language Therapists
  • Improvement: Charandeep Malhi, Clinical Specialist Physiotherapist
  • Sustainability: Søren Kudsk-Iversen, Consultant Anaesthetist
  • Patients' Choice: Sara Goves, Safeguarding Midwife and Mr Dennis Remoundos, Consultant Oncoplastic Breast Surgeon
  • Supporter or Volunteer: Tingewick Society medical students
  • CEO's Award: Jay Mistry, Commercial Director
  • Chair's Award: Fiona MacLeod, Clinical Director of Radiology and Imaging

More than 1,800 nominations were received for this year;s Staff Recognition Awards and a shortlisting panel comprising staff from across the Trust had the difficult task of selecting the finalists. 

Terry Roberts, Chief People Officer, Oxford University Hospitals, said:

"It is always a humbling experience to attend the Staff Recognition Awards and to hear the wonderful stories of great care from across our organisation and to be able to have the opportunity to thank our people for all that they do.

"The achievements of not just our winners but also our shortlisted nominees are an example of the wonderful culture that has been developing at our OneTeamOneOUH, and a window into the fantastic work that takes place every day as we care for our patients."

Professor Sir Jonathan Montgomery, Trust Chair, said:

"I was privileged to be at the awards ceremony, not only to present the Chair's award, but to bear witness to the extraordinary work our staff do, and the respect afforded to them by their colleagues and patients."

For more about this event: visit and/or search #OUHAwards23 on Twitter.