Skip to main content
Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

AlertCoronavirus / COVID-19

If you have a new continuous cough, a high temperature, or a loss or change to your sense of taste or smell, do not come to our hospitals. Follow the national advice on coronavirus (COVID-19).

Please find information on our services and visiting restrictions in our COVID-19 section.

Patients and visitors must wear a face covering in our hospitals.

This site is best viewed with a modern browser. You appear to be using an old version of Internet Explorer.

2019 Staff Recognition Awards finalists announced


More than 1,500 nominations were received for the 2019 Staff Recognition Awards at Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust - congratulations to all staff, volunteers and fundraisers who were nominated, and thank you to everyone who took the time and trouble to nominate staff colleagues.

Every single nominee is to be congratulated for being recognised for everything that they do every day to provide excellent and compassionate care.

A big thank you to Oxford Hospitals Charity for generously supporting the Staff Recognition Awards - both the Trust-wide awards ceremony on 4 December 2019 and the Divisional events. Their support makes these important celebrations of staff achievements possible.

Divisional Staff Recognition Awards events

Hundreds of staff who have been nominated are being recognised at Divisional awards ceremonies.

Trust-wide Staff Recognition Awards ceremony - Wednesday 4 December 2019

Colleagues in our Divisions and at Trust-wide level have now selected three finalists in each category - the overall winners will be announced at the Trust-wide Staff Recognition Awards ceremony which will be held at Oxford Town Hall on Wednesday 4 December 2019.

Congratulations to all this year's Staff Recognition Awards finalists - and good luck!

Doctor of the Year

  • Mr James Gilbert
  • Dr Chris Kearns 
  • Dr Mridula Rajwani

Nurse/Midwife of the Year

  • Janine Beck
  • Lisa Butcher
  • Andrea Szekretar

Allied Health Professional / Pharmacist/Healthcare Scientist of the Year

  • Felicity Beckley
  • Joanna Snowball
  • Roberto Vilar

Clinical Support Worker of the Year

  • Samantha Bowles
  • Sophie Dawes
  • Mary Dudley

Non-Clinical Support Worker of the Year

  • Charmaine Hope
  • Katie Sawyer
  • Amanda Taylor

Leader of the Year

  • Dr Karen Steinhardt
  • Mary Sunderland
  • Danielle Wilson

New Starter of the Year

  • Hannah Cooper
  • Katie Hards
  • Amy Khosla

Improvement and Innovation Award

  • Lainie Lawson
  • Osteoporosis and Fracture Prevention Service
  • SCAN (Suspected Cancer) Pathway Team

Clinical Team of the Year

  • Community Hepatology Team
  • Conservation (Haemostasis) Team
  • JR and West Wing Theatres

Non-Clinical Team of the Year

  • International Nurse Recruitment Team
  • Neuropathology Team
  • Private Patients Team - SUWON Division

Oxford Hospitals Charity Supporter of the Year

  • Dan Hancocks and Anthony Surley
  • Kate Hilliar
  • The Stead Family

Patients' Choice Award (four finalists nominated by members of the public and patients)

  • Dr Geetha Anand
  • Kate Cummings
  • DAFNE (Dose Adjustment For Normal Eating) Team
  • Oxford Centre for Children and Young People in Pain (OXCYPP)