Skip to main content
Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Coronavirus / COVID-19

If you have a new continuous cough and/or high temperaturedo not come to our hospitalsFollow the national advice and stay at home for seven days

Important information about our services and restrictions on visiting our hospitals can be found in the COVID-19 section.

This site is best viewed with a modern browser. You appear to be using an old version of Internet Explorer.

Staff Recognition Awards 2016

OUH strives to be an organisation that staff would recommend to others for their treatment, and be an organisation that lives and puts into practice its values of compassion, excellence, respect, delivery, learning and improvement.

The 2016 OUH Staff Recognition Awards took place on the evening of Wednesday 7 December at a gala event at Oxford Town Hall.

The event was a celebration of the outstanding care and compassion delivered to patients by staff across the Trust's four hospitals: the Churchill, Horton General in Banbury, the John Radcliffe and the Nuffield Orthopaedic Centre.

The finalists were selected from an unprecedented 850 nominations from colleagues and patients, and included the Patients' Choice category for the first time.

Award for Excellence

Jenny Black
Preoperative Assessment / Aural Care Nurse
Specialist Surgery Nursing
John Radcliffe Hospital
Jenny was nominated for putting patients at the heart of everything she does and continuously going the extra mile to ensure everything is in place for her patients' surgery.
Nominator: Ali Northover


Angela Hobbs
Deputy Ops Service Manager
Surgery and Oncology
Endoscopy - Clerical staff
John Radcliffe Hospital
Nominator: Ben Wright


Kayleen Coutts
Haemophilia Nurse Practitioner
Haemophilia and Thrombosis Centre
Surgery and Oncology
Churchill Hospital
Nominator: Nicola Curry

Award for Care and Compassion

Alberta Bussett
Anatomical Pathology Technician
Clinical Support Services
John Radcliffe Hospital
Alberta works with the Paediatric Pathologists on autopsies and has the difficult task of preparing the bodies of babies who have died, doing so with immense compassion and sensitivity.
Nominator: Bryan Piper


Maria Jimenez
Clinical Support Worker
Medicine Rehabilitation and Cardiac
Rehabilitation: Nursing
Oxford Centre for Enablement
Nuffield Orthopaedic Centre
Nominator: Hilary Davey


Shirley Lockhart
Transplant Specialist Nurse
Transplant Department
Churchill Hospital
Surgery and Oncology
Nominator: Simon Northover and the whole Recipient Transplant Coordinator Team

Award for Supporter of the Year

Joy Money
Joy has been a Red Cross volunteer at the John Radcliffe Hospital for 33 years, offering therapeutic hand massages and reassurance to patients.
Nominator: Voluntary Services Team


Mary Lou Howard
Nominator: Voluntary Services Team


Play 2 Give
Volunteer Group
Nominator: Eleanor Jones

Award for Leadership

Liz Hobbs
Supported Hospital Discharge Service, John Radcliffe Hospital
Liz has made the hospital discharge service a major success, collaborating effectively with other organisations and setting up the new Home Assessment Reablement Team.
Nominators: Julie Hurst and Sally Marsden


Laura Bick
Head of Recruitment and Retention
Human Resources and Admin
Nominator: Alex Jones


Evelyn Gicana
Acting Manager
Stoke Mandeville Renal Clinic
Surgery and Oncology
Stoke Mandeville Hospital
Nominator: Hannah Terry

Award for Outstanding Achievement

Linsey Davis
Sister, Acute Ambulatory Unit, John Radcliffe Hospital
Linsey has led the nursing team that has set up the Trust’s new ambulatory service.
Nominator: Sarah Wheeler


Tracey Sunderland
Diabetes Inpatient Specialist Nurse
Medicine Rehabilitation and Cardiac
John Radcliffe Hospital
Nominator: Anonymous


Belinda Boulton
Transformation Programme
John Radcliffe Hospital
Nominator: Joanne McMahon

Award for Quality Improvement

Sarah Kilcoyne
Facial Therapist, John Radcliffe Hospital
Sarah, a Facial Therapist, has produced the first reported video-based teaching of facial exercises for children with congenital facial palsy.
Nominators: David Johnson and Carrie Luscombe


Julia Buchanan
Practice Development Nurse
Acute General Medicine
Medicine Rehabilitation and Cardiac
John Radcliffe Hospital
Nominator: Kerri-Marie Rance


Linda Cox
Midwife Sonographer
Maternity Ultrasound Women's Centre
Children's and Women's
John Radcliffe Hospital
Nominator: Honor Stobart

Award for Team of the Year

Oxfordshire Children's Diabetes Service
John Radcliffe Hospital and Horton General Hospital
The team were nominated for their outstanding teamwork in pursuing excellence.


Breast Surgery Clinical and Administrative Team
Surgery and Oncology Division
Churchill Hospital, John Radcliffe Hospital and Horton General Hospital
Nominator: Kim Linfoot


Emergency Care Team
John Radcliffe Hospital and Horton General Hospital
Medicine, Rehabilitation and Cardiac
Nominator: Sarah Cocker


Special Recognition Award

Liaison Hub
John Radcliffe Hospital

Delivering Compassionate Excellence

Oxford University Hospitals is proud to recognise the contribution our staff make to the success of our organisation for our patients. Through Delivering Compassionate Excellence, our people and our teams go the extra mile to make Oxford University Hospitals the special place that it is.