Skip to main content
Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Cancer Services

Alert Coronavirus / COVID-19

If you have a new continuous cough, a high temperature, or a loss or change to your sense of taste or smell, do not come to our hospitals. Follow the national advice on coronavirus (COVID-19).

Please find information on our services and visiting restrictions in our COVID-19 section.

Patients and visitors must wear a face covering in our hospitals.

This site is best viewed with a modern browser. You appear to be using an old version of Internet Explorer.

Oesophagogastric Cancer MDT

The team

The Oesophagogastric Cancer Multidisciplinary Team (MDT) is a well-established group of experts with a specialist interest in the diagnosis, treatment and management of people with cancers of the oesophagus (gullet) and stomach. The team comprises doctors, nurses and other health professionals who manage the treatment of these cancers in Oxfordshire. The oesophagogastric MDT also offers a specialist service and advice for others within the Thames Valley Cancer Network including Buckinghamshire and Wiltshire.

The team meets weekly on a Monday to discuss, in confidence, newly diagnosed and referred patients with cancers of the oesophagus and stomach. The MDT meetings offer a forum for the team members to plan an agreed programme of investigation and treatment specific to individual patient needs.

This approach ensures that all necessary investigations are carried out as quickly as possible. Patients are informed of the discussion and treatment options by the consultant in charge of their case and their specialist nurse. Treatment is started at the earliest opportunity.

The oesophagogastric MDT currently includes the following members.

Oesophagogastric Surgery

  • Mr Nicholas Maynard
  • Mr Robert Marshall
  • Mr Bruno Sgromo
  • Mr Richard Gillies

Clinical Oncology

  • Dr Nicola Warner
  • Dr Claire Blesing
  • Professor Somnath Mukherjee

Medical Oncology

Dr Kinnari Patel


  • Dr Barbara Braden
  • Dr Adam Bailey

Interventional Radiology

Dr Jane Phillips-Hughes


  • Dr Andrew Slater
  • Dr Helen Bungay
  • Dr Kevin Bradley
  • Dr Horace D'Costa


  • Dr Lai Mun Wang
  • Dr Caroline Hughes
  • Dr Eve Fryer

Advanced Nurse Practitioners

  • Sister Anne-M Phillips
  • Sister Anita Joyce
  • Sister Gill Dyer

Specialist Dietitian

  • Mrs Emma Fox
  • Miss Liz Ward

MDT Co-ordinator

Mrs Rachel Styles

Find us and contact us

Surgical Administration
Level 0
Churchill Hospital
Oxford OX3 L7J

Tel: 01865 235706 (Monday to Friday 9.00am - 5.00pm).