Skip to main content
Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Cancer Services

This site is best viewed with a modern browser. You appear to be using an old version of Internet Explorer.

Breast Cancer MDT

The team

The Breast Cancer Multidisciplinary Team (MDT) is a well-established group of experts with a specialist role in the diagnosis, treatment and management of people with breast cancer. The team comprises doctors, nurses and other healthcare professionals who manage the treatment of breast cancers in Oxfordshire.

The team meets every Wednesday to discuss, in confidence, newly referred patients with a suspected or confirmed diagnosis of breast cancer. The MDT meetings offer a forum for the team members to plan and agree a recommended programme of treatment specific to individual patient needs.

This approach ensures that all necessary investigations are carried out as quickly as possible and the best available treatment is offered. Treatment options are then discussed with the patient and their family at a subsequent appointment, which is often later that week.

The Breast Cancer MDT links with all those engaged in breast cancer care within the community and primary care, and offers specialist advice to other breast cancer specialists within the Thames Valley Cancer Network when requested.


This video, filmed by barco TV in October 2017, shows a fictional patient consultation, including the moment when the diagnosis is given, and a multidisciplinary team meeting, where many clinicians and healthcare professionals work together to decide the best course of action for the individual patient.

It also features interviews with some of the staff who work in the Oxford Cancer Centre.

The Breast Cancer MDT currently includes the following core members.


  • Miss Toral Gathani: Breast Cancer MDT Lead
  • Miss Pankaj Roy: Lead Breast Surgery
  • Miss Gael MacLean
  • Mr Dennis Remoundos
  • Miss Asha Adwani (Associate Specialist)

Oncology (medical and clinical)

  • Dr Bernadette Lavery: Lead Breast Oncology
  • Dr Nicky Levitt
  • Professor Adrian Harris
  • Dr Sileida Oliveros
  • Dr Shiroma De Silva Minor
  • Dr Ketan Shah
  • Dr Andrew Eichholz
  • Dr Mark Tuthill
  • Dr Rene Roux
  • Dr Lucia Angelelli


  • Dr Madhu Bhattacharyya: Lead Breast Radiology and Breast Screening
  • Dr Jane Baldwin
  • Dr Rosie Adams
  • Dr Shaheel Bhuva
  • Dr Vaishali Parulekar (Associate Specialist)


  • Dr Ben Phillips: Breast Pathology Lead
  • Dr Lucie Winter
  • Dr Yannis Roxanis
  • Dr Derek Roskell

Specialist Nursing Team

  • Gill Stoker (Diagnostic Advanced Nurse Practitioner)
  • Sally Bridger (Horton)
  • Ginny Turner
  • Karen Smith
  • Hazel Terrado
  • Surpal Grewal
  • Michelle Browne
  • Nic Tadman (Metastic)
  • Sue Ingledew (Metastatic)

Further information

Find us and contact us

  • Level 0, Oxford Cancer Centre
    Churchill Hospital
    Old Road
    Oxford OX3 7LJ
  • Tel: 0300 304 7777
  • Breast Imaging Centre: 01865 235621