Skip to main content
Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Cellular Pathology

This site is best viewed with a modern browser. You appear to be using an old version of Internet Explorer.

Our team

  • Lead Clinician: Dr Derek Roskell
  • Laboratory Manager: Mrs Sharon Roberts-Gant

Specialist teams

Bone and Soft Tissue Pathology

  • Prof Nick Athanasou
  • Dr Zsolt Orosz

Breast and Endocrine Pathology

  • Dr Ben Phillips
  • Dr Derek Roskell
  • Dr Ioannis Roxanis
  • Dr Lucie Winter

Cardiovascular and Respiratory Pathology

  • Dr Colin Clelland
  • Dr Mark McCole

Cervical Screening Cytology

  • Dr Sunanda Dhar
  • Dr Sanjiv Manek
  • Miss Julia Sarson


  • Dr Ruth Asher
  • Dr Olivia Espinosa
  • Dr Eleni Ieremia
  • Dr Chris Stonard

Gastrointestinal Pathology

  • Dr Eve Fryer
  • Dr Lai-Mun Wang
  • Dr Elena Collantes
  • Dr Caroline Hughes
  • Dr Ruchi Tandon
  • Dr Aniko Rendek
  • Dr Natasha Onwu

Gynaecological Pathology

  • Dr Stephen Damato
  • Dr Sunanda Dhar
  • Dr Sanjiv Manek
  • Dr Mark McCole
  • Dr Rosario Oliveira


  • Prof Francesco Pezzella
  • Dr Daniel Royston
  • Dr Elizabeth Soilleux

Head and Neck Pathology

  • Dr Stephen Damato
  • Dr Ketan Shah

Liver Pathology

  • Dr Eve Fryer
  • Dr Aniko Rendek
  • Dr Lai Min Wang

Paediatric Pathology

  • Dr Colene Bowker
  • Dr Darren Fowler

Renal Pathology

  • Prof Ian Roberts

Urological Pathology

  • Dr Clare Verrill
  • Dr Lisa Browning

The department is supported by a dedicated team of:

  • junior doctors
  • biomedical scientists
  • anatomical pathology technicians
  • associate practitioners
  • biomedical support workers
  • secretarial and administrative staff.

Each of the laboratories and the mortuary are managed by an operational manager.