Skip to main content
Anaesthetic Fellowships

This site is best viewed with a modern browser. You appear to be using an old version of Internet Explorer.

NeuroAnaesthesia and Neurointensive Care

Fellows gain experience in anaesthetic management of wide spectrum of neurosurgical procedures.

Clinical curriculum

The curriculum comprises:

  • evacuation of obstructing lesions
  • neuro-oncological surgery (awake and asleep craniotomies, trans-sphenoidal pituitary surgery)
  • cerebrovascular surgery (AVMs, aneurysms, intracranial bypass procedures)
  • functional neurosurgery (epilepsy, deep brain stimulation)
  • interventional neuroradiology (embolisation, mechanical thrombectomy)
  • major spine surgery including deformity corrections in cooperation with spinal orthopaedic surgeons.

In addition, experience in intraoperative evoked potentials monitoring will be a part of the clinical learning.

Fellows will gain experience of Neuro Intensive Care and looking after patients in a large tertiary referral centre.

On-call duties

Fellows will participate in general emergency on-call duties in the John Radcliffe Hospital West Wing.

This on call area is extremely interesting and varied, including not only acute neurosurgery but also stroke thrombectomy, acute airway surgery and paediatric emergency surgery (with dedicated paediatric consultant cover).

Hospital building icon


Research opportunities include:

  • clinical neuroanaesthesia outcome studies
  • mechanism of anaesthetics
  • effects of anaesthesia on neuro-electrophysiology
  • functional neuroimaging.
Magnifier held over a graph icon


Regular education sessions are arranged within the department with Consultants and Registrars.

Fellows are encouraged to attend and present in regular departmental morbidity and mortality meetings.

Teacher indicating blackboard to four pupils icon

Neurointensive Care

The John Radcliffe Hospital also has a tertiary referral Neurosciences Intensive Care Unit as part of the Major Trauma Centre Network.

This has 13 level 3 beds and is staffed by 9 WTE consultants. There are exciting opportunities to become involved in research being undertaken on the NICU.

Oxford Neurosurgery and Neuroradiology

Oxford is a world-renowned neurosurgical centre of both clinical and academic excellence.

The John Radcliffe Hospital is a regional tertiary neurosurgical centre which serves a catchment area for approximately 2.5 million people in the Thames Valley.

We are proud to provide world class care and pioneering techniques in neurosurgical practice, including:

  • the well-established deep brain stimulation service
  • skull base and pituitary service
  • epilepsy surgery
  • awake craniotomy for intra-axial brain tumours.

Oxford provides a comprehensive Neuroradiology service, which performs diagnostic and therapeutic procedures including:

  • endovascular treatment of aneurysms and AVMs
  • embolisation of tumours
  • angiography
  • angioplasty.

It is an acute stroke thrombectomy centre - visit Hyper Acute Stroke Unit (HASU).

Neurosurgical theatres are based on Level 1 of the John Radcliffe Hospital West Wing and there is Monday to Friday cover for Neuroradiology, also in the West Wing.

Contact us

Dr Payashi Garry

Head of Neuroanaesthesia Fellowship Programme


Last reviewed:01 February 2024