Skip to main content
Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

This site is best viewed with a modern browser. You appear to be using an old version of Internet Explorer.

Neurosurgery / Neuro-oncology / Neurovascular referrals

Emergency referrals (OARS)

All acute (urgent/emergency) referrals to the Department of Neurosurgery should be made using the Oxford Acute Referral System (OARS):

If the referral is concerning a time critical transfer e.g. expanding mass lesion, if you are actively treating the patient e.g. trauma resuscitation, or you have difficulty using the system, please telephone the OUH switchboard and ask to be put through to the Neurosurgical Registrar on call.

  • Tel: 0300 304 7777

Directly Bookable Service for Neurosurgery

The GP surgery will generate an appointment referral request with appropriate priority (urgent or routine) for the service on e-Referral and UBRN in the usual way.

To select a directly booked appointment, please see the guide at the link below, which shows how to use the system.

An electronic proforma or appropriate letter needs to be attached to the e-Referral system by the surgery within 48 hours for a routine or urgent appointment.

In the case that the Trust cannot provide an immediate appointment, 'Defer to Provider' can be selected and Trust processes will be in place to contact the patient within 48 hours for an urgent or routine appointment.

18WW clock will start on the date the GP or patient makes the appointment booking.

GPs should check their patients have appointments on their e-Referral worklist. This applies to all appointment requests made through e-Referral.

Please note exclusions:

  • 2WW to remain as existing process.

For further information please visit 'e-Referral':

Neurosurgery / Neuro-oncology MDT Meeting

The Neuro-oncology MDT is held on a Tuesday morning from 8.30am - 10.00am.

The final cut-off for additions is 12.00pm Friday. Exceptions will be made for clinically urgent cases presenting or deteriorating over the weekend only.

The core panel of specific specialists includes the following.


  • Mr Puneet Plaha
  • Mr Sanjeeva Jeyaratna
  • Mr Richard Kerr
  • Mr Vas Apostolopoulos
  • Mr Richard Stacey
  • Mr Simon Cudlip


  • Dr Allyson Parry


  • Pieter Pretorius
  • Robin Joseph


  • Dr Claire Blesing
  • Dr Nicola Warner

Clinical Nurse Specialist / Advanced Nurse Practitioner

  • Val Russell
  • Wendy Barrett
  • Ruzena Lanc
  • Gillian Hemmings


  • Dr Olaf Ansorge
  • Dr Monika Hofer

To refer a patient for discussion, kindly complete the referral form at the link below:

and email it to the MDT Co-ordinator:

If you have any questions regarding outcomes or referrals, please contact the MDT Co-ordinator.

  • Tel: 01865 223165