Skip to main content
Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

This site is best viewed with a modern browser. You appear to be using an old version of Internet Explorer.

Work on energy link to start on 28 November

02/11/2016
News Image

Oxford City Council has now granted planning permission for Vital Energi to start work on the Energy Link between the John Radcliffe to the Churchill Hospitals to carry hot water, electricity and data.  Also, Oxfordshire County Council has granted the Section 50 notices. 

The Energy Link work will, therefore, begin on 28 November 2016 and run until 13 April 2017 in Highfield and finish 19 May on Churchill Drive.

Vital Energi is now using three dig teams, which has halved the original schedule. Vital Energi and Oxford University Hospitals (OUH) are also working very closely with Access to Headington and the Winvic developers to ensure that all our works are coordinated. 

On 28 November, work will commence at two locations: All Saints Road junction with Barrington Close onto Lime Walk (where there will be temporary three-way traffic lights) and from Latimer Road down to the junction with Latimer Grange. County Council approved signage will be positioned in adjacent roads to alert drivers to road closures. 

We will write a letter to the residents living on this first phase of the work on Monday 14 November that will contain essential information including:

  • Directions for accessing the temporary car park at the JR
  • How to apply for your visitor permits (the County Council has created a unique link to the website and phone number specifically for you)
  • Process for complaints/insurance claims 

The OUH is also currently preparing a 12-page leaflet (that has also had considerable input from local Councillors, residents and the City Council Planning Committee).  It contains practical information on access, emergency procedures, bins, noise, security, etc and a full set of contact details. An initial print run will be delivered to homes on the route and adjacent roads w/c 14 November and 2,500 copies will be then be distributed much wider. The OUH website is currently being updated and the leaflet will be posted there as a pdf. 

If you have a smartphone please follow us on Twitter for regular updates. 

Timetale for the energy link through Headington 

The project will start on Monday 28 November and run through to 13 April on the residential streets. The programme for the work at the Churchill Hospital is 13 March to 19 May.  

Where the dig goes past a junction, the work section will end and begin halfway across the junction so that one side of the road is always kept open.  

Monday, 28 November - Friday, 16 December

Latimer Road → Latimer Grange

All Saints Road/Barrington Close → 84 Lime Walk

Monday, 19 December to Monday, 2 January 2017

No work

Tuesday, 3 January to Friday, 20 January 2017 

Latimer Grange → The Brambles

86 Lime Walk → Nursery Close

Monday, 16 January to Friday, 27 January 2017 

London Road → 1a Sandfield Road

Monday, 24 January to Friday, 10 February 2017

Nursery Close → 129b Lime Walk

Monday, 23 January to Friday, 24 February 2017 

The Brambles → 55 Latimer Road

Monday, 30 January to Friday, 17 February 2017 

1 Sandfield Road → Beech Road

Monday 13 February to Friday, 24 February 2017 

130 Lime Walk → Old Road

Monday, 20 February to Friday, 10 March 2017 

Sandfield Road junction with Beech Road - Woodlands Road

Monday, 27 February to Friday, 17 March 2017 

57 Latimer Road – All Saints Road

Monday, 6 March to Friday, 17 March 2017 

Lime Walk/Old Road Junction → Churchill Drive (includes weekends)

20 March to 31 March, 2017 

London Road Eastbound – (includes weekends)

3 April to 13 April, 2017 

London Rd Westbound

 

Please note that this timetable could change. For up to date information, follow Twitter OUH_Estates #OUEnergy

Back

DEPARTMENTS AND SERVICES