Skip to main content
Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Oxfordshire Children's Diabetes Service

This site is best viewed with a modern browser. You appear to be using an old version of Internet Explorer.

Education programme 2017

Our Education Programme is put together by our Diabetes Educator, Karen Ross.

We offer a comprehensive programme of group education for all our families and children with diabetes.

We aim to offer something for everyone every two years, but there are extra sessions for families with children recently diagnosed and those who are wanting specific information on a particular aspect of looking after children with diabetes eg; insulin pumps, exercise, psychology etc.

From the details on the table below, if your child is due any of the education sessions this year and you would like to know more about them please contact:

These sessions are as important as the clinic visits, so please ensure your child attends.

We always send out information directly to families and children eligible for each session in advance. If you do not receive this, please get in touch with us.

Session dates 2017

Tuesday 17 January 10.00am - noon
Families new to diabetes
For families with children newly diagnosed three to six months ago

Thursday 16 February 3.00pm - 5.00pm
HGH young children's get-together - Rugrats, Banbury
For children with diabetes aged seven and under and their families who attend clinic at the Horton General Hospital

Thursday 23 February 6.30pm - 9.00pm
Medtronic pump and CGM users’ evening

Tuesday 14 March 10.00am - 11.00am
Pump demo session
For all the children due to upgrade pumps over the summer

Wednesday 15 March 7.30pm - 9.30pm
Psychology for parents evening - Reception to Year 5
For parents only - for more information or to book a place contact Mary Cheeseman: mary.cheeseman@ouh.nhs.uk

Wednesday 12 April 10.00am - 2.00pm
Year 3 trip to Crocodile World
For all children in Year 3

Tuesday 25 April 10.00am - noon
Families new to diabetes
For families with children newly diagnosed three to six months ago

Friday 5 May all day
Year 4 fun day
For all children in Year 4

Saturday 13 May all day
Exercise day
For children and families who have expressed an interest in learning more about exercise and diabetes

Tuesday 30 May 10.00am - 4.00pm
Year 5 trip to Cotswold Wildlife Park
For all children in Year 5

Thursday 1 June 3.00pm - 5.00pm
Oxford young children’s get-together - Partyman World of Play, Oxford
For children with diabetes aged 7 and under and their families who attend clinic at Oxford Children's Hospital

Wednesday 14 June 7.00pm - 9.00pm
Year 6 parents’ evening
For parents of children in Year 6 moving onto secondary school in September 2017

Friday 16 June all day
Year 6 day
For children in Year 6 moving onto secondary school in September 2017

Wednesday 5 July 10.00am - noon
Introduction to pumps
For families wanting to find out more about insulin pump therapy

Wednesday 19 July 10.00am - noon
Families new to diabetes
For families with children newly diagnosed three to six months ago

Tuesday 3 October 10.00am - noon
Families new to diabetes
For families with children newly diagnosed three to six months ago

Wednesday 11 October 10.00am - noon
Introduction to pumps
For families wanting to find out more about insulin pump therapy

Wednesday 1 November 6.30pm - 9.00pm
Year 10 evening with pizza
Two sessions running at the same time for parents and young people in Year 10

Wednesday 15 November 6.30pm - 9.00pm
Year 8 evening with pizza
Two sessions running at the same time for parents and young people in Year 8

School training

Tuesday 23 May morning
Secondary school training

Tuesday 6 June all day
Primary school training, Oxford

For primary school staff who need training or re-validation of their competency to provide care for children with diabetes in their school.

Schools will be notified and can book places on these training days.

Friday 9 June all day
Primary school training, Banbury

Tuesday 20 June all day
Primary school training, Didcot

Thursday 7 September all day
Additional primary school training

Wednesday 27 September afternoon
Additional primary school training

Thursday 5 October morning
Additional primary school training

Year 8 and Year 10 information sessions - slides

You may be interested in these slides that were used for Year 8 and Year 10 education sessions.