Paediatric Psychology


In this page

Paediatric Psychology supports both inpatient and outpatient medical services at the John Radcliffe Hospital and the Nuffield Orthopaedic Centre.

We help children and their families to:

  • adjust to illness and treatment
  • cope with developmental delay and difficulties
  • overcome disabling anxieties.

We also assess and support children with development, psychological, emotional or behaviour problems. We run outpatient clinics and support children on the wards.

We provide specialist services in:

  • autistic spectrum disorders and related complex problems
  • attention disorders
  • nutrition and behaviour (in conjunction with dietitians)
  • pain management
  • somatising disorders
  • problems associated with childhood cancers.

Many children with neurological problems are seen by paediatric neuropsychologists based in the Russell Cairns Unit.

Go to top…

Staff

  • Dr Karen Steinhardt
    Consultant Clinical Psychologist and Head of Department
    Email: karen.steinhardt@ouh.nhs.uk

    Karen provides input to PICU, Endocrinology, the HIV Service and General Paediatrics. She is also Head of Department.
  • Dr Konrad Jacobs
    Consultant Clinical Psychologist
    Email: kjacobs@nhs.net

    Konrad is joint clinical and programme lead of OxCYPP, the Oxford Centre for Children and Young People in Pain at the Nuffield Orthopaedic Centre, is interested in Paediatric Rehabilitation and provides input to General Paediatrics.
  • Dr Alice Martell
    Principal Clinical Psychologist
    Email: alice.martell@ouh.nhs.uk / alice.martell@hwph-tr.nhs.uk

    Alice is the lead psychologist at Wexham Hospital, where she provides input to Oncology and General Paediatrics. She also sees patients at the Children's Hospital in Oxford.
  • Dr Rebecca Robinson
    Principal Clinical Psychologist
    Email: rebecca.robinson@ouh.nhs.uk

    Rebecca works at HEPAC, the Hugh-Ellis Paediatric Assessment Centre for children of five and under with (suspected) developmental disabilities.
  • Dr Helen Griffiths
    Email: helen.griffiths@ouh.nhs.uk

    Helen provides input to Oncology and to General Paediatrics. She also spends some dedicated time doing research.
  • Dr Adrian Edwards
    Email: adrian.edwards@ouh.nhs.uk

    Adrian provides input to the Diabetes and the Cystic Fibrosis Service, and to General Paediatrics.
  • Wendy Wyatt
    Administrator
    Email: wendy.wyatt@ouh.nhs.uk

Go to top…

Find us and contact us

We are based principally in the Children's Hospital, on the John Radcliffe Hospital site.

  • Paediatric Psychology
    Children's Hospital, Oxford
    Headley Way
    Headington
    Oxford OX3 9DU
  • Tel: 01865 234187
  • Fax: 01865 234211

Go to top…